Moby dazzled at Hollywood’s Fonda Theatre



Last week (Friday, October 4th) I was lucky enough to attend Moby‘s third and final show here in Los Angeles at the Fonda Theatre, in support of his excellent brand-new album, Innocents (iTunes) released via Mute Records. I had seen him once before live a few years ago (at the Wiltern), so I knew it would be a stellar show, and my gosh, he blew me away once again! He decided to split the evening up into two parts, the first set was all new material from Innocents, the second set was a bunch of his greatest hits. By the time the show was over, I was drenched from dancing my ass off! Moby also had a number of special guest including Skylar Grey, Cold Specks, Damien Jurado, Mindy Jones … and then there was Inyang Bassey. Ms. Bassey (who hails from Brooklyn) gave me goosebumps every time she sang, she is an amazing vocalist, Moby was blessed to have her accompany him on stage, I couldn’t get over her voice. My favorite track of the night was “Honey” (which was the lead single off his 1999 album, Play), the crowd went wild during the song, I felt like it was a rave, I hadn’t danced like that in a long time, it was incredible. Moby took us all to church that night, it’s a show I won’t soon forget.


Everyone should definitely give Innocents a listen, and for those out there younger than me, please do yourself a favor and check out his extensive discography that goes all the way back to 1992 … when I was a sophomore in high school! Moby has had quite the career, now spanning over twenty years and he shows no signs of slowing down, without a doubt he remains one of my favorite musicians.

• Everything That Rises
• Saints (with Inyang Bassey)
• Don’t Love Me (with Inyang Bassey)
• A Case For Shame (with Cold Specks)
• The Last Day (with Skylar Grey)
• A Long Time (with Inyang Bassey)
• The Lonely Night (with Greg Dulli)
• Almost Home (with Damien Jurado)
• Tell Me (with Cold Specks)
• The Dogs (with Damien Jurado)
• The Perfect Life (with Damien Jurado and Mindy Jones)

Greatest Hits
• Flower (with Inyang Bassey)
• Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad? (with Inyang Bassey)
• In My Heart (with Inyang Bassey and Mindy Jones)
• Bodyrock
• Go
• Lift Me Up
• Slipping Away (acoustic)
• In This World (acoustic with Mindy Jones)
• Porcelain (with Mindy Jones)
• South Side (with Skylar Grey)
• We Are All Made of Stars
• Honey (with Inyang Bassey)

• Raining Again
• Disco Lies (with Inyang Bassey)
• Extreme Ways
• Natural Blues (with Inyang Bassey)
• Feeling So Real (with Mindy Jones)

Encore Two
• The Perfect Life (with Damien Jurado / acoustic reprise)


Moby / Innocents


About MICHAEL KNUDSEN 5716 Articles
MK (Michael Knudsen) first started PopBytes back in September of 2003—while trying to make a website for his design portfolio, the site quickly turned into one of the premiere online destinations for all things pop culture! A native New Yorker, he currently resides in Los Angeles with his partner Ivan along with four dogs, four cats and two parrots. Follow him on Twitter @PopBytes.